Skip to main content


The Burning Chrome,
Installation/Object, 2022
View on TEIA.ART

Identity and values

Peer Kriesel’s work is strongly influenced by the changes brought about by constantly evolving digital technologies, which have a major impact on us humans and are changing society. The topic of artificial intelligence is also increasingly confronting artists and us with the question of what makes us human and what sets us apart from machines.

Even though Peer Kriesel otherwise works primarily with “analog” materials and colors – with watercolor/acrylic paint and pigment ink on paper – he has also been creating purely digital works for years, which also deal with the topic of identity and values in a digital world.

It is also about the digital transformation, the change in communication, the acceleration of processes, the structure in the mass of data and the apparent change in values and identity.

On the one hand, there are fusions of hidden object images and digital drawing/painting, abstractions of grimaces and masks, overpaintings and highly limited generative art/PFP projects that have been created since 2021 and are to be understood as a counterpoint to the cheap battle of computer-generated 10k projects (

The Unknown Painters

,

The Avatars

,

Friendly Strangers

,

The Unknown Clowns

,

The Unknown Family

etc.) and on the other hand there are conceptual-installative works such as

The Burning Chrome

.

Peer Kriesel has been working on generative image creation using artificial intelligence – AI-generated photography– since 2022.

He uses this tool for his surreal work in a new genre for him – photography – and explores the limits and absurdities of the visual worlds generated by algorithms. The changes and reworking of the photos, some of which are selfies/self-portraits and old family photos (The Unknown Family Portraits), can be seen as a continuation of the

overpaintings

can be understood as a continuation of the overpaintings.

Peer Kriesel has digital works on the Ethereum, Tezos, Solanaand Algorand blockchain.

TEZOS
OBJKT.COM
TEIA.ART

ETHEREUM
FOUNDATION
KNOWNORIGIN
OPENSEA
RARIBLE

ALGORAND
DARTROOM.XYZ

SOLANA
EXCHANGE.ART

Selfie 2023-10-12, AI-Generated/-Overpainted Photograph

The Dinner, 2023, View on Objekt.com
(The Unknown Family series Reworked/digitally overpainted old family photo)

Digital

Identität und Werte

Peer Kriesels Arbeit ist stark geprägt von den Veränderungen, die die digitalen Technologien, die sich stets weiterentwickeln, mit sich bringen, und die uns Menschen stark beeinflussen und die Gesellschaft verändern. Auch das Thema Künstliche Intelligenz stellen den Künstler und uns vermehrt vor die Frage, was uns Menschen ausmacht und was uns von der Maschine abgrenzt.

Auch wenn Peer Kriesel sonst vornehmlich mit „analogen“ Materialien und Farben arbeitet– mit Aquarell-/Acrylfarbe und Pigmenttinte auf Papier – , entstehen seit Jahren auch rein digitale Arbeiten, die sich auch inhaltlich mit dem Thema Identität und Werten in einer digitalen Welt befassen.

Dabei geht es ebenfalls um die digitale Transformation, die Veränderung der Kommunikation, die Beschleunigung von Abläufen, die Struktur in der Masse an Daten und die scheinbare Veränderung von Werten und Identität.

Zum einen sind es Verschmelzungen von Wimmelbildern und digitaler Zeichnung/Malerei, Abstraktionen von Fratzen und Masken, Übermalungen und stark limitierte Generative Art/PFP Projekte, die seit 2021 entstehen und als Gegenpol zur billigen Schlacht der computergenrierten 10k-Projekte zu verstehen sind (The Unknown Painters, The Avatars, Friendly Strangers, The Unknown Clowns, The Unknown Family etc.) und zum anderen sind es konzeptionell-installative Arbeiten wie The Burning Chrome.

The Burning Chrome, Installation/Objekt, 2022
View on TEIA.ART

Selfie 2023-10-12, AI-Generated/-Overpainted Photograph

Seit 2022 beschäftigt sich Peer Kriesel mit der generativen Bilderstellung durch Künstliche Intelligenz – mit AI-Generated Photography.

Dabei nutzt er dieses Werkzeug für sein surreales Werk in einer für ihn neuen Kunstgattung – der Fotografie– und untersucht dabei die Grenzen und Absurditäten der durch Algorithmen generierten Bildwelten. Die Veränderungen und Überarbeitungen der Fotos, zum Teil Selfies/Selbst-Portraits und alte Familienfotos (The Unknown Family Portraits), kann man als Weiterführung der Übermalungen verstehen.

Peer Kriesel hat digitale Werke auf der Ethereum-, Tezos-, Solana– und Algorand-Blockchain.

TEZOS
OBJKT.COM
TEIA.ART

ETHEREUM
FOUNDATION
KNOWNORIGIN
OPENSEA
RARIBLE

ALGORAND
DARTROOM.XYZ

SOLANA
EXCHANGE.ART

The Dinner, 2023, View on Objekt.com
(The Unknown Family series Reworked/digitally overpainted old family photo)